Sociology Index

Sociology Departments Hungary

Corvinus University of Budapest
INSTITUTE OF SOCIOLOGY AND SOCIAL POLICY
Sociological education and research have had a traditional place at the Corvinus University of Budapest.

In the late 1960s (economic)sociology was introduced as an independent subject in the form of a research team with the participation of András Hegedus, Ferenc Nemes and Iván Szelényi. In the 1970s sociology or certain special fields of sociology gradually became part of the economics course. Sociology Department was established at the end of the 1980s under the leadership first of Ferenc Gazsó, and then of Rudolf Andorka, who later became the rector of the university.

At that time sociology could be studied both as a main subject and as a subsidiary course. László Bertalan and László Csontos played a prominent role in the development of the department profile.

University of Debrecen
Department of Behavioural Sciences
The Department of Behavioural Sciences was established in 1997. Its main task has been to teach and research disciplines providing together "the third face of medical wisdom".

In this framework the main disciplines are medical psychology and communication, behavioural medicine, bioethics, medical anthropology, medical sociology.
The scientific and educational scope of the Department recently expanded with health and clinical psychology.
The staff takes a major role in the educational task of the Medical and Health Science Centre, since our subjects are part of the curricula of every Faculty.
Our important mission is to contribute with a multidisciplinary approach of the behavioural sciences to a holistic direction of the research and study of health-disease issues in general and of doctor-patient relationship in particular.

CENTRAL EUROPEAN UNIVERSITY, DEPARTMENT OF SOCIOLOGY AND SOCIAL ANTHROPOLOGY
The Department of Sociology and Social Anthropology offers innovative MA and PhD programs that integrate both disciplines while accommodating a diversity of theoretical perspectives. Our combination of Sociology and Social Anthropology leads to insightful and groundbreaking research, presenting multi-scalar and critical perspectives on current social issues. We are committed to both academic excellence and socially conscious scholarship. Our areas of research and teaching include migration studies, postcolonialism, studies of globalization, political and economic sociology, urban studies and sociologies of culture.

PERMANENT FACULTY
Judit Bodnar,
Associate Professor
bodnarj@ceu.hu

Ayse Caglar,
Professor
caglara@ceu.hu

Andreas Dafinger
Associate Professor
dafingera[at]ceu.hu

Jean-Louis Fabiani
Professor
fabianij@ceu.hu
   
Don Kalb,
Professor
kalbd@ceu.hu

Alexandra Kowalski,
Assistant Professor
kowalskia@ceu.hu

Dan Rabinowitz,
Professor
visrabinowitz@ceu.hu
   
Prem Kumar Rajaram,
Associate Professor,
Department Head
rajaramp@ceu.hu

Jakob Rigi
Associate Professor
rigij@ceu.hu

Balázs Vedres,
Associate Professor,
PhD Director
vedresb@ceu.hu
   
Daniel Monterescu,
Assistant Professor
monterescud@ceu.hu
   
Vlad Naumescu,
Adjunct Professor
naumescuv@ceu.hu